Sunday , February 23 2020
Home / unitedkingdom / Davis Cup Final 2019: Croatian national team win over Russia

Davis Cup Final 2019: Croatian national team win over Russia

Denis Shapovalov saved three set points before taking the first set in a tie-break
2019 Davis Cup Final
Location: Kaha Magica, Madrid Dates: November 18-24
Coating: Listen to BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra from Wednesday, November 20; Live coverage of selected matches on the BBC Sport website and in-app. Click here for a live guide.

Croatia began defending its Davis Cup title with a 3-0 defeat by rivals from Group B in Russia when a new tournament began in Madrid.

Borna Gojo was defeated 6-3 6-3 by Andrei Rublev, and Borna Korich lost to Karen Khachanov 6-7 (4-7) 6-4 6-4 before the Russian couple teamed up to win the final match in doubles.

Russia faces Spain on Tuesday.

In group F, Canadian Vasek Pospisil and Denis Shapovalov won, winning 2-1 over Italy.

World number 150 I assigned to beat world number 12 Fabio Fognini 7-6 (7-5) 7-5, and Shapovalov fought for Matteo Berrettini, just after his debut in the ATP finals, 7-6 (7-5) 6-7 (3 -7)) 7-6 (7-5). Then the Italian couple defeated the Canadian duet in the final match.

And in group D, Steve Darcis and David Goffin both won their singles matches, as Belgium defeated Colombia 2-1.

New format

Eighteen nations are divided into six groups of three, with the group winners and two winners taking the best places in the quarter finals.

Two semi-finals will be played on Saturday, November 23, and two winners will qualify for the finals on Sunday, November 24th.

Six groups
Group A: France, Serbia, JapanGroup B: Croatia, Spain, Russia
Group C: Argentina, Germany, ChileGroup D: Belgium, Australia, Colombia
Group E: Great Britain, Kazakhstan, NetherlandsGroup F: USA, Italy, Canada
Which of the top 20 in the world plays?
Rafael Nadal (Spain) [1]Fabio Fognini (Italy) [12]
Novak Djokovic (Serbia) [2]Diego Schwartzman (Argentina) [14]
Matteo Berrettini (Italy) [8]Denis Shapovalov (Canada) [15]
Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain) [9]Karen Khachanov (Russia) [17]
Gael Monfils (France) [10]Alex de Minaur (Australia) [18]
David Goffin (Belgium) [11]

Schedule – who plays when?

Group stage: Monday, November 18 – Thursday, November 21

Quarter Final: Thursday, November 21 – Friday, November 22

Semifinals: Saturday, November 23

The final: Sunday, November 24th

Source link