Sunday , January 24 2021

Ten Irish novels, listed in the long list for the International Dublin Literary Award

Dan buckley

Ten Irish novels are among the 141 books nominated by libraries around the world for the international Dublin Literary Prize worth 100,000 euros.

Nominations for the world's most valuable annual literary award for one edition of fiction published in English include 39 novels translated from works by authors from 41 countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, USA and Canada, South America, Australia and New Zealand.

The organizer of the Dublin City Council, the 2019 Prize was launched today by the Lord Mayor, Nial Ring, patron of the award, which thanked him for advancing in world literature, as well as for the opportunity to promote Irish writing internationally.

Mike McCormack, winner of the 2018 award, said that this award is “one of the dwindling jewels in the crown of this country,” and a judge from London Gron, a judge in 2018, called it a model prize: “It's not about marketing, it's nothing Something to a friend. This concerns honest writing and good reading, and I think this is exemplary, and I think that the whole way the prize was created is wonderful. ”

    Irish titles assigned for 2019 are as follows:

  • Mrs Osmond by John Banville
  • Line made a walk through Sarah Baume
  • Invisible Furies of the Heart by John Boyne
  • Acts of loyalty to Peter Cunningham
  • Roddy Doyle's smile
  • Lisa McInerney's bloody miracles
  • Break in the middle of winter by Bernard McLaverty
  • Ithaca from Alan McMonagla
  • Dead House Billy O & # 39; Callaghan
  • Conversations with Sally Rooney's friends.

Other novels nominated for the 2019 award include the winner of the Costa Nova Award in 2017, John McGregor (Jon McGregor), the previous winner of the 2012 award for Even Dogs; 2017 Costa First Novel Eleanor Oliphant winner is completely different from Gail Honeyman; At the distance, Hernan Diaz, finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2018, and Life Ahead, Michel de Creser, laureate of the Michael Franklin Prize in 2018.

Among the 39 books translated are novels originally published in Danish, Estonian, Finnish, Korean, Maori, Serbian and Slovenian.

The long list shows Judge Ge Yang, Lord Mayor of the Dublin Ring of Nile, Chairman Eugene R. Sullivan and Judge Aylis Nee Duybn. Photo: Fennell Photography

The book that has received the most nominations this year is Mohsin Hamid's “Going West”, selected by nine libraries in Barbados, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Spain and the USA.

The panel of judges in 2019 includes Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, a bilingual Irish writer and screenwriter; Martin Middeke, Professor of English at the University of Augsburg, Germany; Hans Christian Ozer, translator, editor and travel writer; Evi Wilde, a novelist and booksellers, and Ge Yan, author and PhD in comparative literature. The non-voting president is Eugene R. Sullivan, a federal judge and US writer.

All premium-nominated novels are available for borrowing from Dublin’s public libraries. A full list of 141 titles is available at The short list will be published on April 4, 2019, and the winner will be announced on June 12.

Source link